Old Friends and the Trick to Being Invincible

The summer has continued to prove exciting as I have met up with an old friend, returned to my barn days and rode a horse, and continued my adventure into a life of running by doing the color run.

I always make a point of reaching out to old friends, and as awkward as it can be, it always proves rewarding. I met up with the friend for tacos and we spent the evening catching up and exploring her campus town. Part of maturing, I’ve realized, has a lot to do with discovering your old self as well. Life is not a linear process that everyone must follow, but in fact quite fluid. Life is a universal experience that is lived in different orders, all of them valid. I’ve come to realize that all the things I feel I have missed out on are because I went through a different life stage at that point that most people end up going through later. Everyone misses out on something, and I’m learning to be ok with that. There is no need to be insecure about it or feel the need to catch up. The superiority I cast onto others is not needed.

The color run was great fun and a good reminder to keep up with my running. We finished the 5k in 45 minutes, making sure we got each color fully. Combined with cycling classes, I’ve found great strength and energy in my workouts. It’s so enjoyable to see yourself fail miserably in the beginning, and then be able to look back once you’ve improved. I’ve often be scared to fail, but it is one of the most rewarding experiences. It can make you invincible.

Beyond enjoying my time with others, I have made a point to do things on my own- archery at the local range, kayaking on my own, and sketching at a lake near my house. I often find it intimidating to be on my own, often feeling exposed to the world. Yet again, this feeling becomes empowering once you do it more (and I have much work to do still!)

 

Leave a Reply

